Would like to know the reasenable time to update your pisition on zezo
Post by iconPost by ClementLaTortue | 2019-12-25 | 09:06:12

Hello just wondering if I should change my position on zezo every hour or ten minuts or i dont know.

commenticon 15 Comments
Post by iconPost by BooBill | 2019-12-26 | 14:24:51
Weather forecast updates are every 6 hours. In between those, the game weather is an interpolation between forecasts. That means the predicted winds are the actual wind experienced in the game. Therefore, as long as you do not deviate from your suggested route, you should only have to update 4 times a day. (000Z, 0600Z, 1200Z, 1800Z).

The fine folks that provide this free of charge have commented occasionally to ask people to be respectful of the computing resources. Frankly, zezo runs faster than some paid for routers that I've used. Let's keep it that way.

Post by iconPost by zezo | 2019-12-26 | 21:10:59
It's not that hard on the server.

I (and VR) had problems when there was a 12-hour update scheduled at 8AM/PM.

Then _everyone_ was online and needed routing in the 5 minutes after 8h. I was bringing up amazon/google cloud instances for 15-20 minutes just to carry the peak load and VR were having bad downtime.

Now the load is spread more evenly around the day, still with peaks around update time of course.

To the original question: 10 minutes is an overkill most of the time, but can be useful at times. And sometimes once every 12 hours could be enough. It all depends on the weather conditions.

@bmertens thanks for the comment. I seem to have missed/forgotten this post.
Post by iconPost by zezo | 2019-12-26 | 21:13:21
P.S. When on a desktop I use the Chrome extension, so every time I enter a game I generate new routing. So the question to me is "how often do I update my game position"
Post by iconPost by ClementLaTortue | 2019-12-26 | 22:09:13
Thank you so much! Love your site!
Post by iconPost by ClementLaTortue | 2019-12-26 | 22:07:45
So if I'm not mistaking, the weather updates at 6, 12, 6, 00 UTC?
Post by iconPost by zezo | 2019-12-26 | 22:19:11
New data starts filling in at 10:35 UTC. The process is finished around 12:15 with the entire 16 days of forecast. There is a red line in the chart indicating the progress.

Repeat every 6 hours.

The first update may be enough if you are close to the finish. You probably need more data on longer runs.
Post by iconPost by YourMomSA | 2019-12-26 | 22:01:02
I stop checking when life intervenes or I feel like I'm being a psycho. Whichever comes first.

Post by iconPost by zezo | 2019-12-26 | 22:19:23
+1 ;-)
Post by iconPost by Fouras_17 | 2020-02-08 | 15:06:28
Hello, I have doubts about the time of the wind update in UTC.

Faq Zezo: At the times the GFS model comes out: 05:00, 11:00, 17:00, 23:00 UTC.

Here on the post: (000Z, 0600Z, 1200Z, 1800Z).

An idea, I'm lost

Thank you

Is French (translate google)

Post by iconPost by Fred | 2021-01-05 | 21:16:11
If I'm not mistaken, Fouras_17's comment above is correct.

When to update :
UTC : 5.15 11.15 17.15 23.15
CET : 6.15 12.15 18.15 00.15

Did I get it properly?
Apologize in advance, I'm pretty sure question has been asked 100 times already, I just want to be sure of my understanding.



Post by iconPost by zezo | 2021-01-05 | 21:44:23
That's when the entire forecast comes out.

For short-term prediction (when close to the finish/a weather system) you may want to start earlier. Like hour and a half earlier (15:40 UTC etc.)

And even with long-term forecast the data beyond 10 days is unreliable, so it's better not to change your strategy every 6 hours based on it.
Post by iconPost by Fred | 2021-01-05 | 21:48:03
Roger that, thx.
Post by iconPost by zezo | 2021-01-05 | 22:02:54
Many times you can see how the top players all turned 10 degrees at 4:40 CET. Me, I'm too tired of the game to do it, unless it's a two-day race like Caribbean 600 and I haven't played for a while.
Post by iconPost by Fred | 2021-01-06 | 11:41:41
To be deleted, double click. Apologize for inconvinience.




Post by iconPost by Fred | 2021-01-06 | 11:42:57
For the records, I followed the red line updates on 1 cycle this morning, and I'm a little bit surprised : I was expecting something more linear.

00 day - 000 hrs - 10:30 CET - 09:30 UTC
01 day - 024 hrs - 10:41 CET - 09:41 UTC
02 day - 048 hrs - 10:51 CET - 09:51 UTC
03 day - 072 hrs - 10:51 CET - 09:51 UTC
04 day - 096 hrs - 11:01 CET - 10:01 UTC
05 day - 120 hrs - 11:22 CET - 10:22 UTC
06 day - 144 hrs - 11:22 CET - 10:22 UTC
07 day - 168 hrs - 11:22 CET - 10:22 UTC
08 day - 192 hrs - 11:22 CET - 10:22 UTC
09 day - 216 hrs - 11:32 CET - 10:32 UTC
10 day - 240 hrs - 11:53 CET - 10:53 UTC

Anyway, I'm not a "hard player" at all. Just wanted to lightly understand how works the tool. I know already more than enough how to beat my friends. ;)



border
Topics list
Posts
border
21
border
border
23
border
border
10
border
border
5
border
border
Copyright 2009 by ZEZO.ORG. All Rights Reserved.